Posted by: options4care | January 31, 2010

Welcome to Options4care.


Health Blogs


//

Everyday in America, eighty percent of families provide care. It is difficult enough to manage your own life, and suddenly you have become a care provider for a spouse, relative or mom or dad. All at once you have someone that depends on their daily needs provided by you. There is no manual to tell you the things that you should know regarding the care of an elderly person. Basically you are on your own. Learning by trial and error. When I would have a split second, I would think, does it matter to anyone the things that I do?

 When my father was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s Disease I became the care provider. I became the health advocate, the shopper, the cook, the errand runner, medical appointment maker, medical appointment transporter, the medication reminder person, etc. etc. Not to mention my own job, my family, my kids, my life. I wish someone wouuld have shown me how to split myself in half.

There were things I had to learn, and things I did not think I would ever learn.  When I look back I realize that these were lessons in life.I did not want to learn about medical equipment like how to open a wheel chair. I learned that wheel chairs are pretty heavy, especially when you need to put one in the trunk. One benefit is I have some pretty toned arms. Learning how to use a lift to get dad in and out of bed.

 When you become a caregiver you give up so many things in life. At times you loose track of who you are. Caregiving is an emotional roller coaster that seems never ending. My mother who was always the “rock” in the family, all of a sudden seem to become helpless.  I felt I was caring for two children. I felt I needed to support her, when the whole time I needed the support.

 Through the years and tears of providing care for dad, I learned a lot. The experience is an unforgettable one. Through the happy times, sad times, difficult times, through the laughter and  tearful times we made it through. It taught me many lessons in life, some that I thought Idid not need to learn. It made me more compassionate, it help me see what was really important in life. This made me a stronger individual. It made me loved my parents even more. I learned very quickly how to manage the unmanageable in life. Through this experience, and in the memory of my father it allowed me the chance to change my direction  and goals in life. It helped me open my own home care business and provide home support services for families who require respite care.  Providing the highest quality care like a member of our family.  Through my father’s eyes, I was given a greater gift. The gift of having the highest respect for our aging population. Having the highest respect for families that are care providers and face new challenges daily. When your life as a care provider seems to become overwhelming. When you do not know where to turn for support. When you need some time for yourself. We help you manage the unmanageable. 

Home support services are there to help you

//

.

Leave a Reply

Categories

